Wallaby and All Black Squads for Northern Tour

The All Blacks and Wallabies have been named for their Northern Hemisphere tours. The two teams will kick off their tour with a Bledisloe Cup match in Hong Kong on the 30th of October. It will be the fourth time they have played each other in 2010.

Wallaby Squad:

Ben Alexander, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Kurtley Beale, Richard Brown, Luke Burgess, Mark Chisholm, Quade Cooper, Rod Davies, Ben Daley, Huia Edmonds, Rocky Elsom (capt), Anthony Faingaa, Saia Faingaa, Will Genia, Matt Giteau, Scott Higginbotham, Matt Hodgson, Peter Hynes, Van Humphries, Salesi Ma’afu, Pat McCabe, Ben McCalman, Pat McCutcheon, Drew Mitchell, Stephen Moore, Luke Morahan, Dean Mumm, James O’Connor, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Benn Robinson, Nathan Sharpe, Rob Simmons, James Slipper, Lachie Turner.

The Australian squad features 7 uncapped players. Notably, three of them come from the Australian silver medal winning sevens team from the Delhi Commonwealth Games, their captain Pat McCutcheon, Nick Phipps and Luke Morahan. Of the 36-man Wallaby squad, 15 have played for the Australian Sevens team.
Other uncapped players to make the tour are Queensland’s Van Humphries, Rod Davies and Scott Higginbotham, and Pat McCabe from the Brumbies.

Rocky Elsom will captain the Wallabies on the tour.

Wallabies Tour schedule:

Saturday, November 6, v Wales, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Tuesday, November 9, Wallabies v Leicester, Welford Road, Leicester
Saturday, November 13, Wallabies v England, Twickenham, London
Tuesday, November 16, Wallabies v Munster, Thomond Park, Limerick
Saturday, November 20, Wallabies v Italy, Stad Artemio Franchi, Florence
Saturday, November 27, Wallabies v France, Stade de France, Paris

All Blacks Squad:


Andy Ellis (Canterbury), Daniel Carter (Canterbury), Jimmy Cowan (Southland), Stephen Donald (Waikato), Hosea Gear (Wellington), Cory Jane (Wellington), Alby Mathewson (Wellington), Mils Muliaina (Waikato), Ma’a Nonu (Wellington), Joe Rokocoko (Auckland), Sitiveni Sivivatu (Waikato), Conrad Smith (Wellington), Isaia Toeava (Auckland), Sonny Bill Williams (Canterbury).


John Afoa (Auckland), Anthony Boric (North Harbour), Daniel Braid (Auckland), Tom Donnelly (Otago), Hikawera Elliot (Hawke’s Bay), Ben Franks (Tasman), Owen Franks (Canterbury), Andrew Hore (Taranaki), Jerome Kaino (Auckland), Richie McCaw (Canterbury, captain), Keven Mealamu (Auckland), Liam Messam (Waikato), Kieran Read (Canterbury), Brad Thorn (Canterbury), Sam Whitelock (Canterbury), Tony Woodcock (North Harbour)

The All Blacks squad features the selection of soon-to-be dual international Sonny Bill Williams. Williams played for the Canterbury Bulldogs in the NRL and for the Kiwi International Rugby League team before converting to rugby union to play for Toulon in France. He has played his way into the New Zealand squad via the Canterbury ITM Cup team after a much publicised move to New Zealand. He and Hika Elliot are the only uncapped players in the squad, although Elliot played for the All Blacks against Munster in 2008. Stephen Donald makes the squad after an indifferent Super 14, a chest injury, but a sensational return to form in the ITM Cup for Waikato. He is the only no. 10 back up to Dan Carter, with both Colin Slade and Aaron Cruden not making the squad.

Israel Dagg, Corey Flynn, Richard Kahui, Luke McAlister, Piri Weepu and Ali Williams were not considered for the All Black squad due to injury. Richie McCaw will continue to build on his record as All Blacks captain for the most tests.

All Blacks Tour schedule:

Saturday 30 October, All Blacks v Australia, Hong Kong Stadium, Hong Kong
Saturday 6 November, All Blacks v England, Twickenham, London
Saturday 13 November, All Blacks v Scotland, Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Saturday 20 November, All Blacks v Ireland, AVIVA Stadium, Dublin
Saturday 27 November, All Blacks v Wales, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff

Leave a Reply