Springbok Squad Announced for Tri-Nations 2011

Peter de Villiers, Springbok coach, has named a controversial Springbok team for the 2011 Tri Nations. De Villiers has omitted 21 ‘injured’ players to begin the away leg of the tournament. Six players will look to make their test debut, Elton Jantjies, Charl McLeod, Ashley Johnson Coenie Oosthuizen, Werner Kruger and Dean Greyling.

World Cup winner CJ van der Linde and uncapped lock Gerhard Mostert from the Sharks will also be added to the team.

John Smit continues his record breaking tenure as captain of the Springboks in 2011.

Springbok Tri Nation Backs 2011:

Gio Aplon (DHL Western Province)
Bjorn Basson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province)
Adrian Jacobs (The Sharks)
Elton Jantjies (MTN Lions)
Patrick Lambie (The Sharks)
Charl McLeod (The Sharks)
Lwazi Mvovo (The Sharks)
Odwa Ndungane (The Sharks)
Wynand Olivier (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
Morne Steyn (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Springbok Tri Nation Forwards 2011:

Heinrich Brussow (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Jean Deysel (The Sharks)
Dean Greyling (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Alistair Hargreaves (The Sharks)
Ryan Kankowski (The Sharks)
Werner Kruger (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Ashley Johnson (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Johann Muller (Ulster)
Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Chiliboy Ralepelle (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Danie Rossouw (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
John Smit (The Sharks)
Deon Stegmann (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Adriaan Strauss (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

One Response

  1. michael charles July 20, 2011

Leave a Reply