South Africa v Samoa Team Announcements 2011 Rugby World Cup

South Africa Springboks and Samoa team announcements for their 2011 Rugby World Cup Pool D clash at North Harbour Stadium on Auckland’s North Shore on Friday September 30 at 8:30pm.

South Africa have named a strong team to face Samoa, although captain John Smit is rested, with Bismarck Du Plessis starting at Smit on the bench. It is a move that will please many who believe Bismarck Du Plessis is the better hooker. Victor Matfield returns from injury to captain the team in Smit’s absence. South Africa only need a solitary bonus point to guarantee progressing to the quarter finals.

Samoa will be battered after their physical match up against Fiji on Sunday, but will give the match everything, knowing they will be heading home unless they can win.

Pool D: Fri Sept 30 20.30 South Africa v Samoa North Shore North Harbour Stadium

Springboks Team to Play Samoa:

15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie Du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie Du Plessis, 2 Bismarck Du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Reserves: 16 John Smit, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Francois Louw, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Jean De Villiers.

Samoa Team to Play Springboks:

15 Paul Williams, 14 David Lemi, 13 Seilala Mapusua, 12 Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 George Stowers, 7 Maurie Faasavalu, 6 Taiasina Tuifua, 5 Kane Thompson, 4 Daniel Leo, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Mahonri Schwalger (captain), 1 Sakaria Taulafo.
Reserves: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Anthony Perenise, 18 Logovi’i Mulipola, 19 Ofisa Treviranus, 20 Filipo Lavea Levi, 21 Junior Poluleuligaga, 22 George Pisi.

Leave a Reply