New Zealand Wins Hong Kong Sevens

New Zealand have won the 2011 Hong Kong Sevens tournament, defeating England in the final 29 to 17. It was a rematch of their Wellington and South Africa Sevens finals, also won by New Zealand. England have made the final of every tournament this year except Las Vegas, and were winners of the Dubai tournament.

On their way to the final New Zealand defeated Fiji and England beat Samoa, both games with a 19 to 14 score line. Russia, Portugal, Australia and South Africa were defeated at the quarter final stage.

Hong Kong, the glamour tournament of the series world series, is a 24 team event as opposed to the 16 team events on the rest of the series. As such the winner takes 30 points instead of 24. It is the tenth time New Zealand have won the coveted tournament, two short of the record held by Fiji, who have won 12.

New Zealand now stand alone at the top of the IRB Sevens World Series ladder on 110. England are still close behind them on 105. Tied on third place with 84 are Samoa and Fiji. South Africa remain fifth with 72 points.

Next on the 2010/2011 Sevens World Series circuit are the Adelaide Sevens in Australia on the 2nd and 3rd of April.


Hong Kong Sevens 2011 Cup Final: New Zealand 29 v England 17

New Zealand:

Tries: Frank Halai 2, Solomon King, Tomasi Cama, Tim Mikkelson tries;
Conversions: Tomasi Cama (2), Buxton Popoalii


Tries: Mat Turner, Dan Norton, Greg Barden
Conversion: Ben Gollings

Hong Kong Sevens 2011 Cup Semifinal: New Zealand 19 v Fiji 14

New Zealand:

Tries: Tim Mikkelson (2), Lote Raikabula
Conversions: Tomasi Cama (2)


Tries: David Batiratu, Dale Tonawai
Conversions: Ilai Tinai (2)

Hong Kong Sevens 2011 Cup Semifinal: Samoa 14 V 19 England


Tries: Uale Mai, Alafoti Faosiliva
Conversions: Uale Mai, Reupena Levasa


Tries: Ben Gollings, Dan Norton, Chris Cracknell
Conversions: Ben Gollings(2)

Hong Kong Sevens 2011 Plate Final:

South Africa 26 v Australia 19

South Africa:

Tries: Cecil Afrika, Sibusiso Sithole (2), Branco du Preez
Conversions: Cecil Afrika (3)


Tries: Hamish Angus (2), Bernard Foley
Conversions: Hamish Angus (2)

Hong Kong Sevens 2011 Bowl Final: Japan 12 v Canada 33


Tries: Katsuyuki Sakai, Lepuha Latuila
Conversion: Katsuyuki Sakai


Tries: Sean Duke (2), Chauncey O’Toole, John Moonlight, Neil Meechan
Conversions: Nathan Hirayama (4)

Hong Kong Sevens 2011 Shield Final:

Kenya 17 V Spain 12


Tries: Biko Adema, Andrew Amonde, Sidney Ashioya
Conversion: Biko Adema


Tries: Carlos Blanco, Juan Cano
Conversion: Pedro Martin

Leave a Reply