IRB Hall of Fame

The rugby hall of fame operated by the IRB (International Rugby Board) has been running since 2006, when Rugby School and William Webb Ellis himself were inducted. It started nearly ten years after the International Rugby Hall of Fame was launched.

The IRB Hall of Fame seeks to celebrate heroes of the game, and those who have made immense contributions to its legacy. Not only players, coaches and referees are eligible, but also entire teams, clubs and Unions, photographers and journalists. Even organisations can be nominated and inducted. A player, player or coach must be retired for at least two years. Both males and females are eligible.
This list will be updates as more rugby hall of famers are inducted.

Inducted in 2006:
William Webb Ellis from England
Rugby School from England

Inducted in 2007:
Danie Craven from South Africa
Pierre de Coubertin from France
John Eales from Australia
Gareth Edwards from Wales
Wilson Whineray from New Zealand

Inducted in 2008:
1888 New Zealand Natives and team organiser Joe Warbrick from New Zealand
Jack Kyle from Ireland
Melrose Club and Ned Haig from Scotland
Hugo Porta from Argentina
Philippe Sella from France

Inducted in 2009:
Barry “Fairy” Heatlie from South Africa
Bennie Osler from South Africa
Frik du Preez from South Africa
Bill Maclagan from Scotland
Ian McGeechan from Scotland
Willie John McBride from Ireland
Tony O’Reilly from Ireland
Syd Millar from Ireland
Cliff Morgan from Wales

Leave a Reply