International Rugby Hall of Fame

The International Rugby Hall of Fame was launched in 1997 in New Zealand. It’s a charitable trust run out of London. While most inductees are former players, other contributors to the game of rugby are eligible. The International Rugby Hall of Fame has been running for nearly ten years longer than the IRB Hall of Fame.

The International Rugby Hall of Fame also seems to induct more hall of famers at a time than the IRB Hall of Fame.
New Zealand currently has the most entries, with 15, with Wales next on 10.

Hall of Famers by Nation:

15 New Zealand
10 Wales
9 South Africa
8 Ireland
7 Australia
6 France
5 Scotland
4 England
1 Argentina

This list will be updated as more rugby hall of famers are inducted.

1997 Inductees:

Serge Blanco from France
Danie Craven from South Africa
Gareth Edwards from Wales
Mark Ella from Australia
Mike Gibson from Republic of Ireland
Barry John from Wales
Willie John McBride from Republic of Ireland
Colin Meads from New Zealand
Cliff Morgan from Wales
George Nepia from New Zealand
Frik du Preez from South Africa
Tony O’Reilly from Republic of Ireland
Hugo Porta from Argentina
Jean-Pierre Rives from France
JPR Williams from Wales

1999 Inductees:

Gerald Davies from Wales
Morne du Plessis from South Africa
Nick Farr-Jones from Australia
Andy Irvine from Scotland
Carwyn James from Wales
Jack Kyle from Republic of Ireland
Brian Lochore from New Zealand
Philippe Sella from France
Wavell Wakefield from England
Wilson Whineray from New Zealand

2001 Inductees:

Gordon Brown from Scotland
David Campese from Australia
Ken Catchpole from Australia
Don Clarke from New Zealand
Mervyn Davies from Wales
Sean Fitzpatrick from New Zealand
Michael Lynagh from Australia
Bill McLaren, commentator from Scotland
Hennie Muller from South Africa
Jean Prat from France

2003 Inductees:

Bill Beaumont from England
Gavin Hastings from Scotland
Tim Horan from Australia
Michael Jones from New Zealand
Ian Kirkpatrick from New Zealand
John Kirwan from New Zealand
Jo Maso from France
Syd Millar from Republic of Ireland

2005 Inductees:

Fred Allen from New Zealand
Phil Bennett from Wales
André Boniface from France
Naas Botha from South Africa
John Eales from Australia
Grant Fox from New Zealand
Dave Gallaher from New Zealand
Martin Johnson from England
Ian McGeechan from Scotland
Gwyn Nicholls from Wales
Francois Pienaar from South Africa
Keith Wood from Republic of Ireland

2007 Inductees:

Ieuan Evans from Wales
Danie Gerber from South Africa
Tom Kiernan from Republic of Ireland
Jason Leonard from England
Jonah Lomu from New Zealand
Terry McLean (journalist) from New Zealand
Graham Mourie from New Zealand
Bennie Osler from South Africa
Fergus Slattery from Republic of Ireland
Joost van der Westhuizen from South Africa

Leave a Reply