England v France Quarter Final Teams 2011 Rugby World Cup

England and France team announcements for their 2011 Rugby World Cup quarter final match at Eden Park Stadium in Auckland on Saturday.

England topped their pool with four victories, including wins over Argentina and Scotland, which knocked Scotland out of the pool stages for the first time in a World Cup. France finished second in their pool, despite losing two games, one to the All Blacks and a humiliating loss to the 15th ranked Tonga. While England’s and France’s success in the pool stages are quite different, both have been plagued with off field issues. France, particularly their coach Marc Lievremont have had an ongoing battle with the French media. England have also faced speculation from the media due to their off field indiscretions in Queenstown.

For the quarter final France have continued with Morgan Parra at flyhalf, named veteran Imanol Harinordoquy at number eight and brought back Nicolas Mas into the front row.

England’s Mike Tindall has been ruled out with injury. Jonny Wilkinson moves out to take his place at number 12, while Toby Flood starts at flyhalf.

Pool B:
Sat October 1 20.30 England v Scotland Auckland Eden Park

England Team to Play France:

Ben Foden, Chris Ashton, Manu Tuilagi, Toby Flood, Mark Cueto, Jonny Wilkinson, Ben Youngs, Nick Easter, Lewis Moody (captain), Tom Croft, Tom Palmer, Louis Deacon, Dan Cole, Steve Thompson, Matt Stevens.
Reserves: Dylan Hartley, Alex Corbisiero, Courtney Lawes, Simon Shaw, James Haskell, Richard Wigglesworth, Matt Banahan.

France Team to Play England:

Maxime Medard, Vincent Clerc, Aurelien Rougerie, Maxime Mermoz, Alexis Palisson, Morgan Parra, Dimitri Yachvili, Imanol Harinordoquy, Julien Bonnaire, Thierry Dusautoir (captain), Lionel Nallet, Pascal Pape, Nicolas Mas, William Servat, Jean-Baptiste Poux.
Reserves: Dimitri Szarzewski, Fabien Barcella, Julien Pierre, Louis Picamoles, Francois Trinh-Duc, David Marty, Cedric Heymans.

Leave a Reply