Canterbury and Hawkes Bay Win ITM Cups

Both away teams triumphed in the ITM Cup finals this weekend. Canterbury suffocated Waikato at Waikato Stadium, winning in a tryless Championship final 12-3. The Premiership final could not have been more different. Hawkes Bay won a try-fest in Palmerston North to emerge victorious and gain promotion to the ITM Championship next year.

Canterbury’s victory was their fourth national provincial championship in a row, led to all of them by coach Rob Penney.

Hawkes Bay’s victory was remarkable for them being able to overcome their squad being decimated by World Cup obligations and injuries. Hika Elliot and Michael Coman were out with injuries; Zac Guildford and Israel Dagg were with the All Blacks, Sona Taumalolo with Tonga and Kahn Fotuali’i, Logovi’i Mulipola, Kane Thompson and Anthony Perenise with the Samoan team. They were also up against a Manawatu side with an impressive record at home, having been unbeaten in Palmerston North up until that point.

Canterbury 12 v Waikato 3


Penalty: Donald


Penalties: Taylor 3

Waikato Team:

Trent Renata, Henry Speight, Jackson Willison, Sam Christie, Tim Mikkelson, Stephen Donald, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Alex Bradley, Marty Holah, Liam Messam, Romana Graham, Toby Lynn, Nathan White (captain), Marcel Cummings-Toone, Toby Smith.
Reserves: Vance Elliot, Ben May, Matt Vant Leven, Zak Hohneck, Brendon Leonard, Sitiveni Sivivatu, Declan O’Donnell, Ted Tauroa.

Canterbury Team:

Sean Maitland, Telusa Veainu, Robbie Fruean, Ryan Crotty, Patrick Osborne, Tyler Bleyendaal, Willie Heinz, Nasi Manu, George Whitelock (captain), Ash Parker, Luke Romano, Nepo Laulala, Ben Funnell, Wyatt Crockett.
Reserves: Paul Ngauamo, Joe Moody, Luke Katene, Brendon O’Connor, Takerei Norton, Tom Taylor, Johnny McNicholl, Andrew Olorenshaw.

Hawkes Bay 35 v Manawatu 30


Tries: Tietjens, Bryant, Fitzgerald
Conversions: Cruden 3
Penalties: Cruden 3

Hawke’s Bay:

Tries: Saseve, Buckman, Nemani, Sinoti
Conversions: Horrell 3
Penalties: Horrell 3

Manawatu Team:

1. Grant Polson, 2. Rob Foreman, 3. Ma’afu Fia, 4. Reece Robinson, 5. Michael Fitzgerald, 6. Nick Crosswell (capt), 7. Doug Tietjens, 8. James Oliver, 9. Aaron Smith, 10. Aaron Cruden, 11. Junior Tomasi Cama, 12. Frank Bryant, 13. Lewis Marshall, 14. Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 15. Craig Clare.

Reserves: 16. Bryn Templeman, 17. Jared Brock, 18. Fraser Stone, 19. Callum Gibbins, 20. Isaac Thompson, 21. Casey Stone, 22. Nehe Milne-Skudder, 23. David Te Moana or Peni Kaufusi.

Hawke’s Bay Team:

1. Kas Lealamanua, 2. Hikairo Forbes, 3. Ben Tameifuna, 4. Brodie Retallick, 5. Bryn Evans (capt), 6. Trent Boswell-Wakefield, 7. Adam Bradey, 8. Karl Lowe, 9. Chris Eaton, 10. Daniel Kirkpatrick, 11. Gillies Kaka, 12. Andrew Horrell, 13. Tua Saseve, 14. Richard Buckman, 15. Mark Jackman.

Reserves: 16. Danny Logan, 17. Brendon Edmonds, 18. Maselino Paulino, 19. Hugh Reed, 20. Isaac Paewai, 21. Sinoti Sinoti, 22. Tino Nemani, 23. Jody Allen

Leave a Reply