Bulls win 2010 Super 14

South Africa's Bulls celebrate after their Super 14 Rugby union final match with compatriots the Stormers in Soweto, Johannesburg, May 29, 2010. REUTERS/Siphiwe Sibeko (SOUTH AFRICA - Tags: SPORT RUGBY)

The Bulls have won the 2010 Super 14, the last of it’s kind as it takes the form of a Super 15 next year complete with a new format. The Bulls won 25 points to 17 at Soweto’s Orlando stadium, with Morne Steyne kicking 20 points and missing just one kick. Francois Hougaard scored the Bulls only try in an impressive, individual effort. The Stormers will surely take heart from finally delivering on all their promise, and will be even better in 2011. They scored two tries, one to Enrico Januarie and the standard intercept try to Bryan Habana. Peter Grant converted both tries and kicked a penalty.

The Bulls always looked too strong and at one stage in the first half were leading 16-0. The Stormers came back to within 6 points but Morne Steyne penalty kicked the Bulls through to victory.

Morne Steyne continues his two-season dominance in Super Rugby scoring 263 Super Rugby points in 2010, a new record. In fact, he has eclipsed Crusaders fly-half Dan Carter’s record by 42 points. His epic point scoring is also an indication of just how dominant the Bulls have been this year.

It is the Bull’s third Super 14 title in four seasons. Fellow Super Rugby teams will be hoping the eventual retirements of old warriors like Victor Matfield and suspended lock partner Bakkies Botha will help bring the team back into line in the future. Australian and New Zealand teams will be hoping the same goes for many of the experienced Springboks dominating at all levels of rugby right now.

Leave a Reply