Australia v Russia Team Announcements 2011 Rugby World Cup

Australia Wallabies and Russia team announcements for their 2011 Rugby World Cup Pool C test at Trafalgar Park Stadium in Nelson Saturday October 1 at 3:30pm.

Lock cum number 8 Radike Samo is now a winger and much missed openside flanker David Pocock returns to the Australian side to face Russia. The Wallabies will be expecting to gain an easy bonus point victory over a team at their first ever World Cup. Australia can then wait and hope for a loss by Ireland so they can regain their spot at the top of the pool and avoid South Africa in the quarter finals.

The Australian team has a cobbled together look after some injury ravaged pool play. Wycliff Palu has already been sent home but a replacement has not been sought yet. They will be hoping everyone is back on deck for the finals.

Pool C: Sat October 1 15.30 Australia v Russia Trafalgar Park Nelson

Wallaby Team to Play Russia:

James O’Connor, Radike Samo, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Drew Mitchell, Quade Cooper, Luke Burgess, Ben McCalman, David Pocock, Scott Higginbotham, Nathan Sharpe, James Horwill (captain), Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore, James Slipper.
Reserves: Tatafu Polota Nau, Saia Faingaa, Salesi Maafu, Rob Simmons, Rocky Elsom, Will Genia, Nick Phipps.

Russia Team to Play Wallabies:

1. Sergey Popov 2. Vladislav Korshunov (captain) 3. Ivan Prishchepenko 4. Alexander Voytov 5. Adam Byrnes 6. Artem Fatakhov 7. Vyacheslav Grachev 8. Victor Gresev 9. Alexander Yanyushkin 10. Yury Kushnarev 11. Vladimir Ostroushko 12. Alexey Makovetskiy 13. Andrey Kuzin 14. Denis Simplikevich 15. Vasily Artemyev
Reserves: 16. Evgeny Matveev 17. Vladimir Botvinnikov 18. Alexey Travkin 19. Andrey Garbuzov 20. Alexander Shakirov 21. Konstantin Rachkov 22. Mikhail Babaev

Leave a Reply