Auckland Wins New Zealand National Rugby Sevens Tournament

Auckland has won the New Zealand National Rugby Sevens Tournament in Queenstown after beating Taranaki 36-26 in the final. The Pub Charity NZ Rugby Sevens concluded on Sunday the 9th of January with a dramatic comeback from the Auckland team. At one stage during the second half Auckland were down 12-26 before scoring four tries to take the title. Samoan Sevens International Tom Iosefo showed his class by scoring three tries for Auckland.

On their way to the final Auckland accounted for Otago in the quarter-final and Counties Manukau in the semi-final. Taranaki improved on their 2010 semi-final place by beating Hawke’s Bay 21-19 and Bay of Plenty before losing to Auckland in the final.

The New Zealand National Rugby Sevens Tournament was first held in 1975 and has been an annual tournament except for breaks in 1987, 1988, and 2003. 2011 is Auckland’s 10th National Sevens title, the most of any province, two ahead of North Harbour on eight. North Harbour won the 2010 Plate final after beating Waikato 47-15.

It will be the perfect build up for many of the New Zealand sevens players looking to compete at the Wellington Sevens tournament, the next leg of the IRB Sevens Series on the 4th of February.

Leave a Reply