All Blacks v France Team Announcements 2011 Rugby World Cup

Richie McCaw becomes first All Black to play 100 tests… this time

New Zealand and France Rugby team announcements for their 2011 Rugby World Cup Pool A test at Eden Park in Auckland on Saturday 24 September at 8:30pm.

The All Blacks have named Richie McCaw to play his 100th test for New Zealand, the first All Black to do so. Originally named to make the milestone last week, he was a late withdrawal from the Japan game. Mils Muliaina was also a late injury withdrawal from what looks like what might have been his only chance to regain his hold of the fullback jersey and bring up his own tonne. Tyro Israel Dagg has been named at fullback. Muliaina has played 98 tests, but has been unable to make the bench.

Marc Lièvremont has solved the problem of which halfback to use, by naming both. Dimitri Yachvili will start at halfback while fellow number nine Morgan Parra will start in the relatively unfamiliar flyhalf position. The controversial selection is believed to either be a ploy to kick start regular number 10 François Trinh-Duc or a even deliberate attempt to ‘throw’ the match in the hope of being on a more favourable side of the draw.

Star number eight Imanol Harinordoquy has been unable to break into the starting 15, with Louis Picamoles being rewarded for his game last week with another start.

Pool A:
Sat Sept 24 20.30 New Zealand v France Auckland Eden Park

New Zealand Team to Play France:

Israel Dagg, Cory Jane, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Richard Kahui, Dan Carter, Piri Weepu, Adam Thomson, Richie McCaw (captain), Jerome Kaino, Sam Whitelock, Brad Thorn, Owen Franks, Keven Mealamu, Tony Woodock.
Reserves: Andrew Hore, Ben Franks, Ali Williams, Anthony Boric, Andy Ellis, Colin Slade, Sonny Bill Williams

France Team to Play New Zealand:

15 Damien Traille, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Aurélien Rougerie, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 Maxime Médard, 10 Morgan Parra, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Julien Bonnaire, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Pascale Papé, 4 Lionel Nallet, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Jean-Baptiste Poux.
Reserves: 16 William Servat, 17 Fabien Barcella, 18 Julien Pierre, 19 Imanol Harinordoquy, 20 Francois Trinh-Duc, 21 Fabrice Estebanez, 22 Cédric Heymans.

Leave a Reply