All Blacks Team Named to Play Wallabies in Hong Kong

New Zealand's All Blacks captain Richie McCaw scores a try against Australia's Wallabies during their Tri-Nations rugby match in Sydney September 11, 2010. New Zealand overpowered Australia in the second half to clinch a hard-fought 23-22 victory on Saturday to sweep the Tri-Nations and notch a record 10th consecutive win over the Wallabies. REUTERS/Daniel Munoz (AUSTRALIA - Tags: SPORT RUGBY)

The All Blacks team to play the Wallabies at Hong Kong Stadium, Hong Kong has been named. It is the same starting 15 that defeated the Wallabies 49-28 on July 31 in Melbourne. Notably, Sonny Bill Williams’ highly anticipated All Black debut will have to wait, as he was unable to break up the established All Black midfield of Ma’a Nonu and Conrad Smith, or match the versatility of Isaia Toeava on the bench.

The Wallabies will be looking to stop a run of 10 consecutive defeats to the All Blacks. In their last match the only lost by one point in the dying seconds of the Sydney game.

Mils Muliaina and All Black captain Richie McCaw will both play their 90th Tests, two shy of matching the All Black record of 92 set by Sean Fitzpatrick. It will be the 70th time the two have played an All Black test together. Tony Woodcock, who already holds the record All Blacks most capped prop will play his 70th test. Dan Carter will become the seventh most capped All Black, playing his 75th test.

After a season playing for the Queensland Reds in the Super 14, Daniel Braid comes onto the bench for potentially his first All Black cap since 2008. Hika Elliot is the only uncapped player in the 22, although he played for the All Blacks against Munster in 2008. Stephen Donald replaced Aaron Cruden and Colin Slade in the End of Year Tour squad, and has been named in an All Black 22 for the first time in 2010.

All Blacks Team:

(test caps in brackets).

1. Tony Woodcock (69)
2. Keven Mealamu (80)
3. Owen Franks (17)
4. Brad Thorn (46)
5. Tom Donnelly (13)
6. Jerome Kaino (33)
7. Richie McCaw – captain (89)
8. Kieran Read (25)
9. Jimmy Cowan (41)
10. Daniel Carter (74)
11. Josevata Rokocoko (66)
12. Ma’a Nonu (52)
13. Conrad Smith (41)
14. Cory Jane (21)
15. Mils Muliaina (89)

16. Hikawera Elliot (uncapped)
17. John Afoa (25)
18. Samuel Whitelock (8)
19. Daniel Braid (4)
20. Alby Mathewson (1)
21. Stephen Donald (19)
22. Isaia Toeava (26)

Kick off is at 16:30 local time on Saturday the 30th of October.


  1. erick cman October 29, 2010
  2. M A Williams February 5, 2011

Leave a Reply